Part 4. Project 2. Exercise 2. A longer study

A longer study
50 minutes. Pencil.

You can see the redrawing on this picture. The pose was slightly away from me so there were some quite tricky angles to get right. I used my pencil to measure proportions carefully and to check out the angle of the planes of the body from vertical and horizontal. I smudged the pencil and used putty rubber to lift out highlights. I think the picture is generally successful, the proportions are good and the shading and highlights give the body some weight. There could be more tonal contrast. I like the hand in the hair which is quite tricky to do! The life-drawing class I go to has the disadvantage of not great lighting.

Leave a Reply

