Still life. Exercise 3. Experiment with mixed media 

I used an old canvas as a base for this picture.  It was a photo canvas with a picture of a rose which I bought in a charity shop as part of a series of works over-painting photo canvases. I had previously painted the whole canvas with a thin translucent wash of white acrylic, then divided it into a grid and started painting the grid in colours related to the original picture. I had given up on the canvas as I felt it wasn’t working. For this exercise I took the canvas and drew straight onto it using Sharpie pens. I found a silver Sharpie was the only thing which blocked out some of the darker underpinning which lent an interesting shimmer to the image.

I like the odd background tones and the grid. The picture is very experimental and the tile, pot and plant aren’t anchored in any space which is a weakness. However, as an exploration of mark-making using sharpie pens on a worked on canvas, I think it is interesting.

I like the monochrome pot and the colourful plant. I will explore more monochrome work with some colour. This has already appealed to me in other artists’ work such as Morandi and Willem Claesz Heda.

6 thoughts on “Still life. Exercise 3. Experiment with mixed media ”

  1. I like this very much! Everything about it – using the found canvas and the colour blocks. The marks on the pot are so lively which contrasts really well with the controlled grid behind. Funny how sometimes we think something is not going well, it’s destined for the bin, and then we can pull it back to something really interesting!

    Like

Leave a Reply

