Reflective writing

This is from “An Introduction to Studying in HE” a course from the OCA.

Reflection means thinking about :

  • how the learning took place
  • what you learned
  • why you learned it
  • how you might be able to use that lesson in the future
  • what it means to you

Reflection can help you:

  • understand your strengths and weaknesses
  • identify and question your underlying values and beliefs
  • acknowledge and challenge your assumptions
  • recognise areas of potential bias
  • acknowledge your fears

Reflective Writing checklist

  • what did I do?
  • how well did it go?
  • what did I learn?
  • What will I do differently next time?
  • How will I do it differently next time?
  • What have I achieved?
  • How have I put theory into practice?
  • How does what I’ve been doing lead me to become better at a skill?
  • How can I use this to plan for the future?
  • How can I use this to plan new learning experiences?
  • What do I think/feel about this?
Leave a Reply

