Project 1 Exercise 2 Experimenting with texture

Project 1 Exercise 2 texture lichen.jpg

texture – lichen

Lichen: ink on wet was very difficult to manipulate although I like the ink blot effect when you can see other things in it – I see a fox poking a stick into something. Watercolour wet on wet worked well and I liked the coloured pencil.

Project 1 Exercise 2 Experimenting with texture.jpg

texture – orange peel

Orange peel: I used colour because it helped me think about texture. I felt the most successful was the watercolour stippling which was very free.

project-1-exercise-2-texture-hair
texture – hair

Hair: I felt frustrated that none of the things I did looked remotely like the hair I was looking at although they can all be read as hair (maybe not the charcoal one)

Project 1 Exercise 2 texture frottage.jpg
frottage
Project 1 Exercise 2 texture frottage1.jpg
frottage

I wasn’t terribly inspired by frottage. I used pencil – maybe chalk or charcoal might be more interesting.

Leave a Reply

